Is UDINK offensive to you? – Family’s license plates deemed offensive

While browsing Yahoo for interesting items for feature on my entertainment site (currently being revamped), I came across this little jem.

Now I was reading it and the whole time I was trying to figure out what the problem was. The family’s name is Udink, and the license plates they got was UDINK1, UDINK2 and UDINK3. I’m sitting here reading this, trying to figure out what the heck could a udink be.

So I head over to one of my favorite places, Wikipedia, to see what they have to say.

1 People
2 Things
3 In fiction
4 Slang
5 See also

Apparently is has MANY meanings. And not only that, it was a name of a cartoon character (innocent I am sure) and a hypocorism for the given name Dennis.

Reeeaaallly….

If your into diecast cars, like I am, then you are also going to find this interesting… that dink is sometimes used to refer to miniature diecast cars much like what Hotwheels and Mini-Champs makes.

But now we get to the heart of the matter… the word dink is used to refer to people of Asian decent. After reading that, I remembered that I have heard it before, but it was quite along time ago. And it was most likely on TV in the form of a movie.

It could also mean penis.

And with that last possible description of what dink could mean, here is the link to the story:

Family’s license plates deemed offensive – Yahoo! News



One response to “Is UDINK offensive to you? – Family’s license plates deemed offensive

Leave a Reply

